The Plateau State Assembly today decided to have its speaker and Majority Leader impeached yesterday after 20 out of the 24 members endorsed the move by signing a document to affirm it.

The Speaker, Peter Azi, representing Jos North West state constituency and the Majority Leader, Henry Yenkwap representing Shendam state constituency were impeached and immediately replaced with former Chief Whip, Joshua Madaki, representing Jos East Constituency as the New speaker and Daniel Nanlong representing Mikang constituency as the new Majority Leader respectively.

The document signed was presented by Peter Gyendeng a member of the house representing Barkin Ladi State constituency, for issues bordering from incompetence to lack of leadership qualities.

The former speaker stepped down from the speaker’s seat before plenary yesterday and the deputy speaker presided over the sitting and asked for the nomination from members of the house for a new speaker.

Hon Yusuf Gagdi representing Katana stat Constitutency nominated Hon Joshua Madaki for the position of the speaker and the house unanimously agreed with a voice vote.

The speaker stated that he will support the house in every way possible and promised to play a key role in ensuring that the business of the house moved forward.

Also speaking the new majority leader said that the APC members will see the change they deserve.



Follow Mobizone